morningstill.blogg.se

Mac disk utility partition vs volume
Mac disk utility partition vs volume









mac disk utility partition vs volume
  1. #Mac disk utility partition vs volume how to#
  2. #Mac disk utility partition vs volume for mac#
  3. #Mac disk utility partition vs volume mac os#
  4. #Mac disk utility partition vs volume update#
  5. #Mac disk utility partition vs volume download#

The other Mac volume is my only clone of Snow Leopard. I erased one to use the volume for Mavericks when I ran into the problem in my 1st post. The Windows partition is my only backup for my Windows BootCamp installation.

#Mac disk utility partition vs volume for mac#

As I mentioned, when I originally partitioned this XHD years ago, I made 2 partitions for Mac & one for Windows. So, even though you don't think you need it because you have a clone of your OS partition, what happens when your OS partition gets damaged? How will you fix/repair it? Just some food for thought.Ĭsound1, the XHD in question is a backup.

#Mac disk utility partition vs volume download#

It also has Terminal so one can run Terminal commands, it will also download and reinstall the OS that it was created for (e.g. The Disk Utility Restore requires being in the Recovery HD in order to block-copy (Restore) your OS X partition to a Destination.

mac disk utility partition vs volume

It has Disk Utility so you can repair a disk outside of your OS. The Recovery HD really comes in handy when you need to do something outside of your OS X partition. As you pointed out, maybe that did something to the partition map. I'm not familiar with what a secure erase will do to a partition. This makes the partition bootable on a Mac. Whenever I format a Mac partition, using Disk Utility, I make sure it has the GUID partition map from the Options button. Neither CCC nor SD nor DU Restore would change the GUID or get rid of it.

mac disk utility partition vs volume

That's the piece that makes a Mac partition bootable. GUID (partition map) is sort of like a DOS MBR on a PC.

#Mac disk utility partition vs volume mac os#

The Mac OS Extended (Journaled) is the partition format. Is GUID always Mac OS Extended (Journaled)? Maybe THAT changed the partition map? I’m not clear on format vs map. I did secure erase it in preparation for using it to clone Mavericks though. Is GUID always Mac OS Extended (Journaled)?ĭO CCC & DU both require the volume to be GUID b4 I can clone? If so, It must already be GUID since I had cloned it using CCC in the past. I don’t recall if I set up the Mac partitions with GUID.ĭo CCC & DU both require the volume to be GUID b4 I can clone? If so, It must already be GUID since I had cloned it using CCC in the past. When I originally partitioned this XHD years ago, I made 2 partitions for Mac & one for Windows. I only have First Aid, Erase, RAID & Restore tabs. When I select that volume wi DU, I do not have a tab for Partition. I tried to check if my XHD volume (It is partitioned into 3) is GUID.

#Mac disk utility partition vs volume how to#

I searched Google for how to reformat a volume.

#Mac disk utility partition vs volume update#

The one feature of CCC & SD that I know I’d like is update (replace only things that have changed since the last clone) which will shorten the time to clone. If I knew that Time machine would have priority & CCC would wait till TM was finished b4 beginning its scheduled clone, it would be nice. Not sure I would use the scheduler feature of CCC or SD to create regular clone backups since I will have Time Machine volume backing up every hour automatically & not sure about possible conflicts between the 2 tasks that may try to run at the same time. I’m not sure I need the recovery HD backed up since I clone in order to be able to restore my system in the event of a failure or loss of my Mac HD. I knew that CCC backs up the recovery HD & SD does not. Try the DU Restore again from your Recovery HD. Try reformatting your external drive from DU and click the Options button to ensure you have the GUID partition map selected then click Apply. The error you're getting appears to be due to your external HDD not being setup with the GUID partition map. For example, they both have schedulers, have the ability to update your clone after the initial create instead of "erase and build", CCC backs up the Recovery HD and has a feature to recreate it from CCC via Disk Center. To answer your second question, first, CCC and SD have other features built in that DU Restore doesn't.

mac disk utility partition vs volume

Both are formatted Max OS Extended (Journaled)Īlso, what advantages, if any, are there in using CCC or SD instead of the free DU? I launched DU from recovery system, selected Mac HD as source & my XHD as destination. “Restore Failure, Recovery partition restores can only be done on GPT partition maps.” Tried to create a bootable clone using Disk Utility & got this:











Mac disk utility partition vs volume